Sydney Sports

Home » Sydney Sports


Sport is a significant aspect of the Sydney lifestyle. Activities range from the occasional international event, annual competitions, competitive leagues and individual recreational pursuits. Sydney is the base for a number of teams in national competitions including the Sydney Sixers, Sydney Kings and Sydney Swans.

The Sydney City Council caters for sporting activities with a range of facilities. Across the city there are 20 public swimming pools, many kilometres of dedicated bikeways, ovals and other sports venues. Stadium Australia and the Sydney Cricket Ground, are two of the largest venues in the city.

Popular sports

Rugby league is the most popular spectator sport in Sydney. In 2006 565,898 people attended first class rugby league matches at Stadium Australia. Other popular spectator sports include Cricket, Football (soccer), Australian rules football, rugby union and basketball. The martial arts are also popular in Sydney, with the more traditional western combative disciplines and also because of the proximity to Asian countries where the arts are historically based. While participation rates are high it tends not to enjoy the profile of traditional Australia sports, though the olympic sports of boxing, judo and taekwondo are more well known. For the Asian arts there are many places to practice in Sydney.

Teams in national competitions

Canterbury-Bankstown BulldogsNational Rugby LeagueStadium Australia19358
Cronulla-Sutherland SharksNational Rugby LeagueShark Park19671
Greater Western Sydney GiantsAustralian Football League
AFL Women’s
Sydney Showground Stadium
Blacktown ISP Oval
Greater Western Sydney Giants NetballSuncorp Super NetballState Sports Centre, Qudos Bank Arena2012Nil
Manly-Warringah Sea EaglesNational Rugby LeagueBrookvale Oval19478
New South Wales Blues (cricket)Sheffield Shield/One Day CupSydney Cricket Ground185646 (SS), 9 (One Day Cup), 1 (T20 Bash)
New South Wales SwiftsANZ ChampionshipSydney Olympic Park Sports Centre20081
New South Wales WaratahsSuper RugbySydney Football Stadium18821
New South Wales Waratahs (field hockey)Australian Hockey LeagueSydney Olympic Park Hockey Centre19913
Parramatta EelsNational Rugby LeagueParramatta Stadium19474
Penrith PanthersNational Rugby LeaguePenrith Stadium19672
St. George Illawarra DragonsNational Rugby LeagueJubilee Oval & Wollongong Showground19991
South Sydney RabbitohsNational Rugby LeagueStadium Australia190821
Sydney BearsAustralian Ice Hockey LeagueSydney Ice Arena19822
Sydney Blue SoxAustralian Baseball LeagueBlue Sox Stadium2009Nil
Sydney FCA-LeagueSydney Football Stadium20052 (P’ships), 3 (C’ships), 2 (WL P’ships), 2 (WL C’ships)
Sydney Ice DogsAustralian Ice Hockey LeagueLiverpool Catholic Club Ice Rink20022
Sydney KingsNational Basketball LeagueSydney Olympic Park Sports Centre19883
Sydney RoostersNational Rugby LeagueSydney Football Stadium190813
Sydney SixersBig Bash LeagueSydney Cricket Ground20111
Sydney SwansAustralian Football LeagueSydney Cricket Ground & Stadium Australia18745
Sydney ThunderBig Bash LeagueSydney Showground Stadium20111 (BBL), 1 (WBBL)
Sydney Uni FlamesWomen’s National Basketball LeagueBrydens Stadium19923
Western Sydney Wanderers FCA-LeagueParramatta Stadium, ANZ Stadium, Sydney Showground Stadium20121 (P’ship), Nil (C’ships)
Wests TigersNational Rugby LeagueLeichhardt Oval, Campbelltown Stadium & Stadium Australia20001


Venues in national competitions

VenueCapacityMain Sports
Stadium Australia83,500Rugby league, rugby union, football
Sydney Cricket Ground47,000Cricket, Australian rules football
Sydney Football Stadium44,000Rugby league, rugby union, football
Sydney Showground Stadium25,000Australian rules football
Belmore Oval25,000Rugby league, football
Brookvale Oval23,000Rugby league
Penrith Stadium22,500Rugby league
Jubilee Oval22,000Rugby league
Leichhardt Oval22,000Rugby league
Shark Park22,000Rugby league
Parramatta Stadium20,741Rugby league, football
Campbelltown Stadium20,000Rugby league
Concord Oval20,000Rugby union
North Sydney Oval20,000Cricket, rugby league
Redfern Oval5,000Rugby league
Sydney Entertainment Centre13,250Basketball
NSW Tennis Centre10,000Tennis
Australian Equine and Livestock Events Centre4,020Equestrian
Dunc Gray Velodrome3,150Cycling
The Australian Golf ClubGolf
Oran Park RacewayMotor racing
Randwick RacecourseHorse racing
Rosehill RacecourseHorse racing
Sydney Motorsport ParkMotorsports

Sydney Olympic Park

Map of Sydney Olympic Park, showing the sporting facilities there

Map of Sydney Olympic Park, showing the sporting facilities there

Sydney Olympic Park is roughly in the geographical centre of Sydney. Created for the 2000 Olympics, it is now a major sporting centre in the city.

Sydney Superdome

Sydney Superdome hosts miscellaneous events as Sydney’s premier indoors facility. It has a maximum capacity of 21,000.

Stadium Australia

Track and field events in during the 2000 Summer Olympics.

Track and field events in during the 2000 Summer Olympics.


Stadium Australia, sponsored as ANZ Stadium, is Sydney’s largest stadium. Built for the 2000 Olympics, it now hosts big events such as the NRL Grand Final, the rugby league State of Origin and rugby union and soccer internationals.

The venue is the home ground of NRL teams, the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs and the South Sydney Rabbitohs and serves as an occasional home ground for the Parramatta Eels. ANZ Stadium also hosts a number of Swans home games and the occasional domestic cricket one-day match.

Other facilities

There are various other sporting and recreational facilities in the centre including another indoor arena, tennis centre, aquatic centre, athletics centre, hockey centre, archery centre, as well as the Sydney Showground. In 2009 the area hosted a motor race in the form of the Sydney 500 motor race to be held on a street circuit within the former Olympic grounds.

Moore Park

Sydney Football Stadium

Sydney Football Stadium was designed for the use of rugby league and is now also used for rugby union and soccer. The Sydney Roosters, the NSW Waratahs and Sydney FC soccer team use it as their home ground. The Wests Tigers use the stadium part-time as a home ground. The ground hosted the 2005–06 A-League grand final won by Sydney FC. The ground also hosted rugby league grand finals from its construction until ANZ Stadium was opened.

Sydney Cricket Ground

The Sydney Cricket Ground is mainly used for cricket games and Aussie rules matches. It is home to the Sydney Swans and NSW Blues. The ground held over 1000 rugby league first-grade matches in its history but is rarely used anymore.